Jóhann Jóhannsson - And In The Endless Pause There Came The Sound Of Bees

Picture of Jóhann Jóhannsson - And In The Endless Pause There Came The Sound Of Bees
CD 12T050 (12 Tónar, 2009)


1. Theme
2. City Building
3. Entering The City
4. The Flat
5. Rainwater
6. Siren Song
7. Pods
8. The Gift
9. Dying City
10. City Building (Alternate Version)
11. Escape
12. Inside The Pods
13. End Theme

An accompaniment to the animated filmVarmints, this is a collection of achingly beautiful orchestral work balanced on a bed of Jóhannsson’s patented electronics. Surprisingly however, the film itself is not intrinsic to the enjoyment of the music; Jóhannsson’s score stands alone perfectly as a haunting collection of tracks.

As with most soundtracks, the album is made up of a selection of repeating themes which appear and disappear throughout the record; Jóhannsson manages to approach this with such subtlety you can’t always even tell that a familiar theme is drifting in and out of each track. The clouds of ambience and growls of synthesizer that underpin the lilt of the orchestra are crucial to the record and give a similar warmth similar to what made Englabornso very special. These pieces are memorable and deeply moving, and within one listen you could almost visualise the film itself, or at least a home made version. Soundtrack or not, Jóhannsson has created yet another peerless collection of electronic/classical vignettes you won’t be forgetting any time soon.