Kristinn Árnason (guitar) – Giuliani, Sor, Aguado, Carcassi

CD 12TK005 (12 Tónar, 2009)

This CD presents early 19th century music for the guitar by the Spanish composers Fernando Sor and Dionisio Aguado, the Italian composers Mauro Giuliani and Matteo Carcassi, and Sor’s arrangements of two arias from Mozart’s “The Magic Flute”.


After studying the classical guitar in Reykjavik at the “Sigursveinn D. Kristinsson Music School”, Kristinn Árnason continued his musical education in England with Gordon Crosskey, in Spain with José Tomas, and in New York, where he completed his degree from Manhattan School of Music in 1987. His main teacher there was Nicolas Goluses. The same year, Kristinn participated in Andrés Segovia’s final master class. In New York, he has also played for Manuel Barrueco and Hanz Werner Henze. Kristinn has been active in the Icelandic music scene as well as giving recitals in London, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Oslo, New York and in Italy. He has recorded six albums, and his CD with works by Sor and Ponce won the Icelandic Music Award in 1997. In 2007, Kristinn received a prize from the Kristján Eldjárn Memorial Fund and he has been nominated for the cultural prize awarded by the Icelandic newspaper DV.




Fernando Sor (1778-1839)

1. Variation on a theme from“The Magic Flute” “O cara armonia/Das klinget so herrlich” by W.A Mozart op.9 (9.32)

Dionisio Aguado (1784-1849)

Andante & Rondo op. 2, No. 1

2. Andante (2.49)

3. Rondo (6.16)

 Fernando Sor

4. Andante Largo op. 5, No. 5 (6.08)

 Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)

5. Grand Overture op. 61 (8.22)

 Fernando Sor

Three studies op. 31

6. No. 4 (2.04)

7. No. 5 (1.48)

8. No. 2 (2.27)

Matteo Carcassi (1792-1853)

Three studies op. 60

9. No. 3 (2.27)

10. No. 7 (1.55)

11. No. 16 (2.03)

 Fernando Sor

Two Arias from W.A. Mozart’s “Magic Flute” op.19

12. Bewahret euch vor Weibertucken (1.28)

13. Marsch der Priester (3.40)