Kristinn Árnason (guitar) – Transfiguratio

CD 12TK006 (12 Tónar, 2013)

The music on this CD finds the most brilliant Icelandic classical guitarist, Kristinn Árnason, playing a wide range of works originally composed for the vihuela and the lute, as well as the guitar, and written over a period of almost 500 years.


After studying the classical guitar in Reykjavik at the “Sigursveinn D. Kristinsson Music School”, Kristinn Árnason continued his musical education in England with Gordon Crosskey, in Spain with José Tomas, and in New York, where he completed his degree from Manhattan School of Music in 1987. His main teacher there was Nicolas Goluses. The same year, Kristinn participated in Andrés Segovia’s final master class. In New York, he has also played for Manuel Barrueco and Hanz Werner Henze. Kristinn has been active in the Icelandic music scene as well as giving recitals in London, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Oslo, New York and in Italy. He has recorded six albums, and his CD with works by Sor and Ponce won the Icelandic Music Award in 1997. In 2007, Kristinn received a prize from the Kristján Eldjárn Memorial Fund and he has been nominated for the cultural prize awarded by the Icelandic newspaper DV.




Alonso Mudarra (1510-1580)

1. Fantasia que contrahaze la harpa en a manera de Ludovico (2.00)

2. Pavana de Alexandre (2.14)

3. Gallarda (1.20) Silvius Leopoldus Weiss (1687-1750)

4. Bourrée (Suite No. 19) (3.26)

5. Allemande (Sonata No. 34) (3.19)

6. Gigue (Sonata No. 34) ( 1.54)

7. Tombeau sur la mort de M. Cajetan Baron d’Hartig (4.22)

8. Courante (Suite No. 7) (2.50) Johann Kaspar Mertz (1806-1856)

9. Fantaisie Hongroise (6.23) Isaac Albeniz (1869-1909)

10. Mallorca op. 202 (7.39) Enrique Granados (1867-1916)

11. Danza Espanola No. 4 Villanesca (7.02) Emilio Pujol (1886-1980)

12. Cancion Amatoria (2.56)

13. Tonadilla (1.55) Áskell Másson (1953-)

14. Haustljóð, Poeme d’Automne (7.38)